When You Realise It’s Now Home

image

You start looking for a new house, you get it. The next step is to make the house a home, the issue is how long it takes to actually take this bland bottle of cheap wine to a vintage vino… Yes this is how long I think it takes to make that house a home.

There could be different reasons why it could take longer than expected, it could be:
I. A rental – With a rental you want to be as comfortable as possible without the help of the landlord and also want to draw a line between lavish & “just perfect” .
II. Care Taker: This is not a rental and its not your house either. Picture a situation where an old couple has a very nice house that used to be filled with children and all kinds of activity but everyone that used to give the house love has moved out to face their own life or simply moved out because they can’t live with the parents indefinitely, the parents on the other hand stay in just a part of the house or they just travel round the world for tours and visits which means an empty house.
Most families bring in a young person to just live in to keep the house from falling apart especially if it’s in an urban area. If you know this kinds of houses then you know the kind of old decos that might be considered “vintage” by some but “old” by others. How do you even start making that kind of place as much of your place without changing so much of the original design without looking ungrateful?
Personal houses: If you can afford to build your own house from scratch or buy a house off someone then I say it might take you a while to make that house a home but you’ll get there eventually, the advantage is that you don’t need to hold back with this category, you can just go wild and make it as “you” as possible.
The thing is that it’s really not about the house decorations. It’s not just a place, it is the people! The people are the soul & the objects merely the body that houses the soul.We need both to complete the picture, neither being complete without the other.
For me, as for almost every other person, home was where my parents and siblings were. I grew older, went places, but that was still home. Then one day I was done with my NYSC national service and was no more in the home I grew up in or was accustomed to and realized, “Oh, this has to be my home!” It took a while for me to make this my home – after all, I could not “just be” here as I could at home…Time went by until one day when I was packing to visit my parents, I realized, I was leaving home! Till that day, I had been going home, suddenly, I was packing up to “go to my parents’ home”!

What makes a house a home?
Home is where you can be…
Home is where you feel free…
Home is where you can be you without pretense…
Home is where you pack to go to other places and unpack when you return.

  “Home is not where you have to go but where you want to go; nor is it a  place where you are sullenly admitted, but rather where you are welcomed  – by the people, the walls, the tiles on the floor, the followers  beside the door, the play of life, the very grass.”  
  ―     Scott Russell Sanders

What’s the best thing about your home?

Leave a Reply

